A brief history of the Peace and Spirituality Center at St. Mary-on-the-Lake
- In the early 1900's, the main house was built by a sea captain. He brought the fireplace mantle from Africa and other fixtures from his ship
- In the 1920's, the property was developed as a YMCA camp
- In 1945, the property was purchased by Thomas J. Bannan, a timber magnate and chairman of Western Gear Corporation as a showcase vacation house
- In the 1950's, the dock was built for a visit of President Eisenhower
- In 1955, the Sisters of St. Joseph of Peace purchased the property from the Bannans and the big house was renamed "Bannan House"
- From the 1970's to 2007, Bannan House was used as a day conference center
- In 2007, Bannan House was demolished to prepare for the building of the Peace and Spirtuality Center on the same site
- In 2008, the new Peace and Spirituality Center was completed and opened.
Return to Peace and Spirituality Center Homepage